Missing Before Daylight | Carolyn Arnold

#detectiveamandasteele #womensleuths #policeprocedurals #carolynarnold

She wakes surrounded by an inky black darkness and can barely breathe. A sack is covering her head, and her hands are tied behind her back. She desperately tries to struggle free as she hears footsteps walking toward her. She silently starts to cry as a chilling voice whispers “It’s time to pay for what you did…”

When Detective Amanda Steele is called to the murder scene of a young gas station clerk just before dawn, she assumes it must be a robbery gone tragically wrong. But when she discovers nothing has been stolen, she knows the motive must be far more personal.

Watching the security footage, Amanda is shocked to witness the cold-blooded killer not only shoot the clerk dead but abduct a customer. And her heart stops when she recognizes the customer as her former colleague, Katherine Graves. As Amanda breaks the news to Katherine’s heartbroken Aunt May, she vows to do whatever it takes to bring her niece home alive.

Desperate for a lead, Amanda and her partner, Trent, search Katherine’s home. Soon, they discover that despite no longer being with the police department, Katherine has a long list of very dangerous enemies. Enemies who have been sending her anonymous letters promising revenge.

The more Amanda digs into Katherine’s past, the longer her list of suspects becomes. But when May is sent a ransom demand and a picture of Katherine close to death, Amanda knows time is running out. With only hours left to find Katherine alive, Amanda is prepared to risk everything to keep her promise to May, even her own life…

A completely pulse-pounding and unputdownable crime thriller, perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Rachel Caine.

Buy the Book:

Amazon (Kindle) | Amazon (Paperback)

Deep in my bones, I feel like this is such a pivotal book for Detective Amanda Steele! I have enjoyed seeing Amanda’s transition from when we first met her as a heartbroken, trailing down the wrong path kind of woman. This book really pulls at the heartstrings, too! We get to see classic Amanda, making some poor choices while trying to regain some sense of control of a ‘normal’ life.

The initial scene of the young girl working at the convenience store had me choking up for what she had to endure and then for what her parents would go through. Then learning that Katherine Graves was taken, I was anxious to see what lengths would be taken to bring her back safely. There was a lot from her past that we didn’t get to explore while she was on the force, but this book brings a lot to light and answers so many questions about her!

While Amanda and Trent are on edge looking for Katherine and attempting to uncover why the young girl had to be murdered, we see a shift in their personal relationship. They’ve kissed, but both have been trying to ignore the pull toward each other. It’s understandable with how much time they spend together and although that’s what they try to attribute the feelings to, there is a lot more simmering under the surface. I enjoy the side story of their relationship developments as it adds a lot of emotional involvement to the story at hand.

Reading in the POV of Katherine and the culprit gives you an inside look to the crime and I hope to see even more of it. It adds a unique aspect that pulls you into the disturbed mind of why the person is committing such horrendous crimes. I can’t wait to see where all of the new developments and choices of the characters take us in the next book!

About the Author:

To keep current on author news, sign up for Carolyn Arnold’s newsletter at http://dld.bz/jBtNt

CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international bestselling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has several continuing fiction series and has many published books. Her genre diversity offers her readers everything from cozy mysteries, police procedurals, and thrillers to action adventures. Her crime fiction series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining. This led to her adopting the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT™.

Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower.

She currently lives near London, Ontario, Canada with her husband and two beagles.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorCarolynArnold/

X: https://twitter.com/Carolyn_Arnold

Website: https://carolynarnold.net/

Instagram:  https://www.instagram.com/authorcarolynarnold/

Recommended Posts

Author Spotlights

April Author Spotlight | Kim Cano

Kim Cano is my featured author for April! I connected with her over a decade ago in 2013 when she did a book tour with a company I was reviewing for at the time. Ever since, I’ve kept in touch and devour all of the books she’s continued to write. You’ll want to check out my feature of her newest release – The Healing Train – after you read through my interview.

 

Leave A Comment